top of page
Logo Waldkunst_Deutschland.png

Association for International Forest Art eV

The St. Corona am Wechsel Forest Park is a partner project of the Association for International Forest Art.

 

So we are not an individual project, but part of a forest art path structure that has existed for 20 years with 200 artists from 39 countries and over 300 works of art. The  forest art park should radiate into the region. It is intended to enrich the entire region, because new creative paths are being taken here to combine art and nature in rural areas and make them accessible to people again.

How it all started

In the beginning there was the idea of bringing art and people together where everything is created, in nature.

 

She is beauty and inspiration. This inspiration is evident in the art that the Verein für Internationale Waldkunst offers its visitors.

Since 2002, the International Forest Art Path Biennale has been taking place over a distance of 2.6 km in the forest district of Darmstadt. It is accessible free of charge. In 2022 the association will be 20 years old. Waldkunst creates sustainable works of art in the great outdoors with site-specific, process-oriented and interactive installations and performances.

 

The association operates the International Forest Art Center (IWZ) with a gallery, art garden, artist residency and forest art education. So far, 14 forest art trails and 8 conferences have taken place in Darmstadt, Wisconsin (USA), Lushan and Chengdu (China) and Abidjan Green Art (CI).

 

200 international artists from 39 countries created 307 works of art. The forest art trail in St. Corona am Wechsel (A) will take place for the first time in 2022. There are 35 works of art on the forest art path in Darmstadt and 30 in the IWZ.

Forest art directly engages visitors of all ages. You can observe the working processes of the artists and get in touch with them during the 3-week symposium. An extensive program with guided tours, performances, theatre, music and a children´s program brings interested parties and artists into contact all year round. In addition to the forest art trail, the association runs the children´s construction trailer in the forest with free Sunday workshops.

The association works with different formats, the Global Nomadic Art Project has been running at the Biennale since 2017 and carries out nature art projects with international artists in the region of the UNESCO Global Geopark Bergstraße-Odenwald. In addition, 18 BankART projects have been created since 2008, and since 2002 the association has been cooperating with the Center for Art and Nature eV at the performative art meeting point.

 

From the beginning, the association has developed its own forest art pedagogy especially for the forest art trail. In 2011/2012, together with the Fraport Environmental Foundation, the "Intercultural Forest Art Education" was carried out as a sustainable and participatory project for school classes with a high migration background. The first children´s forest art trail was created, which has been renewed again and again since then. In 2022 the "Young Forest Art Path" will be created in cooperation with the Lichtenber School andartistic, the Kulturfonds Frankfurt Rhein Main.

We regularly draw up a children´s location map, conduct children´s camps, support the KinderKunstGalerie in the forest art center together with the Lichtenbergschule and have been offering workshops on the children´s construction trailer every Sunday from May to September since 2019. We have been involved in the Darmstadt Environmental Diploma since the beginning and have also been involved in the "Junior Route" (Route for Industrial Culture) for four years. We feel committed to ESD.

Sustainable art is a keyword for our work on the forest art trail. The natural cycles, climate change, changes in the forest and especially the local forest dieback play a role in the selection of our topics for the forest art trails and conferences.

 

We are always in contact with our cooperation partners Hessen Forst Darmstadt and the UNESCO Global Geopark Bergstraße-Odenwald.

 

Other partners are the Schader Foundation, the Messel Pit UNESCO World Heritage Site, the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD), the Mathildenhöhe and international partners such as the University of Madison, Wisconsin or Yatoo Nature Art in Korea and the Vienna University of Technology.

bottom of page

Logo Waldkunst_Deutschland.png

Verein für Internationale Waldkunst e.V.

Der Waldpark St. Corona am Wechsel ist ein Partnerprojekt des Vereins für Internationale Waldkunst.

 

Wir sind also kein Einzelprojekt, sondern Teil einer seit 20 Jahren bestehenden Waldkunstpfadstruktur mit 200 Künstlern aus 39 Ländern und über 300 Kunstwerken. Der  Waldkunstpark soll in die Region hinein strahlen. Er soll die ganze Region bereichern, denn hier werden neue kreative Wege beschritten, um Kunst und Natur im ländlichen Raum zu verbinden und den Menschen wieder zugänglich zu machen.

Wie alles begann

Am Anfang stand die Idee, die Kunst und die Menschen dort zusammenzuführen, wo alles entsteht, in der Natur.

 

Sie ist Schönheit und Inspiration. Diese Inspiration zeigt sich in der Kunst, die der Verein für Internationale Waldkunst seinen Besuchern bietet.

Seit 2002 findet die Internationale Waldkunstpfad Biennale im Forstrevier Darmstadt auf 2,6 km statt. Sie ist kostenfrei zugänglich. Im Jahr 2022 besteht der Verein 20 Jahre. Waldkunst gestaltet nachhaltige Kunstwerke in der freien Natur mit ortsspezifischen, prozessorientierten und interaktiven Installationen und Performances.

 

Der Verein betreibt das Internationale Waldkunst Zentrum (IWZ) mit Galerie, Kunstgarten, Artist Residency und Waldkunstpädagogik. Bisher fanden 14 Waldkunstpfade und 8 Konferenzen in Darmstadt, Wisconsin (USA), Lushan und Chengdu (China) und Abidjan Green Art (CI) statt.

 

200 internationale Künstler aus 39 Ländern haben 307 Kunstwerke gestaltet. Der Waldkunstpfad in St. Corona am Wechsel (A) findet 2022 zum ersten Mal statt. Auf dem Waldkunstpfad in Darmstadt gibt es 35 und im IWZ 30 Kunstwerke.

Waldkunst bezieht Besucher aller Altersgruppen direkt ein. Sie können die Arbeitsprozesse der Künstler beobachten und während des 3-wöchigen Symposiums mit ihnen in Kontakt treten. Ein umfangreiches Programm mit Führungen, Performances, Theater, Musik und Kinderprogramm bringt Interessierte und Künstler ganzjährig in Kontakt. Außer dem Waldkunstpfad betreibt der Verein den Kinderbauwagen im Wald mit kostenlosen Sonntagsworkshops.

Der Verein arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Formaten, das Global Nomadic Art Project läuft seit 2017 als Biennale und führt Nature Art Projekte mit internationalen Künstlern in der Region des UNESCO Global Geopark Bergstraße-Odenwald durch. Außerdem sind seit 2008 18 BankART Projekte entstanden, seit 2002 kooperiert der Verein bei den performativen KunstTREFFpunkten mit dem Zentrum für Kunst und Natur e.V.

 

Von Anfang an hat der Verein seine eigene Waldkunstpädagogik speziell für den Waldkunstpfad entwickelt. Gemeinsam mit der Fraport Umweltstiftung wurde 2011/2012 die „Interkulturelle Waldkunstpädagogik“ als nachhaltiges und partizipatorisches Projekt für Schulklassen mit hohem Migrationshintergrund durchgeführt. Dabei entstand der erste Kinderwaldkunstpfad, der seither immer wieder erneuert wurde. 2022 entsteht der „Junge Waldkunstpfad“ in Kooperation mit der Lichtenberschule und Kunstvoll, des Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain.

Wir gestalten regelmäßig einen Kinderlageplan, führen Kindercamps durch, unterstützen im Waldkunstzentrum die KinderKunstGalerie gemeinsam mit der Lichtenbergschule und bieten seit 2019 jeden Sonntag von Mai bis September Workshops am Kinderbauwagen an. Beim Darmstädter Umweltdiplom wirken wir seit Beginn mit und seit vier Jahren auch bei der “Junior Route“ (Route für Industriekultur). Wir fühlen uns der BNE verpflichtet.

Nachhaltige Kunst ist ein Schlüsselwort für unsere Arbeit auf dem Waldkunstpfad. Die natürlichen Kreisläufe, der Klimawandel, Veränderungen im Wald und besonders auch das Waldsterben vor Ort spielen eine Rolle bei der Auswahl unserer Themen für die Waldkunstpfade und Konferenzen.

 

Wir sind immer im Austausch mit unseren Kooperationspartnern HessenForst Darmstadt und dem UNESCO Global Geopark Bergstraße-Odenwald.

 

Andere Partner sind die Schader Stiftung, das UNESCO Welterbe Grube Messel, das Internationale Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD), die Mathildenhöhe und ebenso internationale Partner wie die University of Madison, Wisconsin oder Yatoo Nature Art in Korea und die Technische Hochschule Wien.